PDA

View Full Version : Help me choose a thin kerf combination blade

James Spillman
08-18-2020, 1:21 PM
I've been using a Craftsman table saw for the last 50 years. It is under powered and has difficulty cutting thicker hardwoods. If I use thin kerf blades the saw will do the job. I use a Freud thin kerf ripping blade and a Freud thin kerf combination blade. It's time to get a new thin kerf combination blade. Are there other blades to consider or should I just stick with Freud?

Charlie Jones
08-18-2020, 1:23 PM
I use the freud Fusion 40 tooth for just about everything.

Lisa Starr
08-18-2020, 4:08 PM
I've tried several and find the Freud consistently does the best job.

Josko Catipovic
08-19-2020, 6:29 AM
I think a quality sharpening service is more important as long as you pick any reasonable brand to start with. I use burnstools.com, and the blades come back from sharpening way better than new.

Raymond Seward
08-19-2020, 7:17 AM
Over the years I've tried most of them. I use Forrest

William Chain
08-19-2020, 9:26 AM
The Freud fusion is great, and comes up for sale on the zon for ~$79. Can’t argue with that price. Forrest blades are wonderful performers but will be more $. I use both, like both, and recommend either one. Forrest also has a great sharpening service so that’s another plus.

Dave Sabo
08-19-2020, 9:59 AM
I’ve used them all too. Forrest brings up the rear in terms of cut quality for what I use. Namely, mahogany, poplar, melamine, and usually walnut veneer ply.

The cut is not bad, it’s simply not as good as the other premium blades from Ridge, Infinity, or the Freud Fuison. I also think my Oldham Wizard Elite is about as good.

Like William said, on sale, I don’t think you’ll find a better value than a tk Fusion.

lowell holmes
08-19-2020, 10:18 AM
I am not disputing what has been said, but I have had one of these for over 10 years and it has never needed to be sharpened. Of course it has never seen nail.