PDA

View Full Version : Please help with rotary settings.

Nicole Weiss
08-17-2020, 3:04 PM
Hi. I am new to engraving and purchased a Red and Black Chinese Ruida 644XG. Not sure of the wattage, I don't know how to check but I think it's 50W. (I know I should know but I got it on Craigslist and can't remember what they guy said it was, lol) I have reached the end of the internet trying to find some answers. Some have been very helpful, some not so much. I guess the problem is that every machine and product is different. So, with that said, I'm hoping to narrow it down and get some guidance on what I'm doing wrong (or right :))

I am having trouble finding the right speed and power settings for engraving PC tumblers. I have watched numerous videos and read several posts and it seems like they are engraved really fast and really easily. My best product that I turned out took 38 minutes to engrave! It was on a RTIC Orange 30oz Tumbler with the speed at 35, power at 100 and line interval was at .05. I wasn't able to clean it off to a shiny silver but it looked kinda cool with a little orange left over so it was ok. But, still frustrated, I continued to research and discovered that my mirrors were not aligned. I realigned them and WOW, now I can't engrave anything at 100% power which I guess is a good thing. However, since realigning my mirrors, I can't seem to find a happy medium. I can't afford to engrave one mug an hour and I have ruined about 10 cups so far. I have tried so many different speed/power settings and I am at a loss. I have tried Simple Green, Goof Off, Goo Gone, Alcohol, Magic Erasers, Soap and Water, Orange hand cleaner, Acetone....what else...haven't tried ZEP 505 yet, that's next, lol.

I would really appreciate any guidance on the proper settings for YETI, RTIC type tumblers.

Thank you so much and thank you all for this forum...I have learned a lot in the past 2 months :) and I'm still learning

Paula Curtis
08-17-2020, 4:22 PM