PDA

View Full Version : Help buying my first bandsaw(s)

Todd Sebek
07-24-2020, 4:26 PM
Hey everyone,
I am new to this forum but have researched through it for a while. What a great resource. I need y’all’s advice.
I am an amateur/beginner woodworker but truly value quality tools. My understanding wife has allowed me to try to purchase “forever” tools this year. Again, I’m an amateur but hate buying cheap tools twice, when I could have purchased a quality one once.
I have zero bandsaw experience but want to buy correctly. Here is what I’m looking for: if you were in my shoes, knowing what y’all know, what bandsaw would you get if you could get any one? Is it a better idea to plan on 2, as oppose to 1 - setting up a re-saw and detail separately, and if so, what’s the dream combo?
I currently am configuring one side of my 2-car garage for all of this, but we will only be here for another 3 years or so. I’m not completely concerned with the footprint of the bandsaw(s), because I don’t want this small space to determine my decision. I’m pretty set on most of the other major tools. I have been exploring the PM1500 bandsaw, but I want your expert opinions. I would like to not be limited on what I can do, when I start learning more about this beautiful hobby. Thanks so much!

Chris Groer
07-24-2020, 5:15 PM
Hi Todd. I had a Jet 14" bandsaw with riser block for >10 years and recently upgraded. At first I was looking at the PM1500 but ended up going with a Minimax S440p. I can't even begin to describe the difference in overall quality between the Jet and this saw. Resawing used to be a very slow frustrating process and I am incredibly pleased with the results I have obtained so far with the Minimax. It is not a cheap saw and weighs almost 500 lbs, but I can't imagine ever needing to upgrade this. Good luck!

Dave Mount
07-24-2020, 5:20 PM