PDA

View Full Version : Should I learn Metric now? Beginning woodworker help.

Jon Steffen
07-12-2020, 10:04 PM
I would say i'm a beginner of "fine woodworking", but i've been building stuff for 20 years. Gazeebo Eagle Scout project, deer stands, garage storage, fences, car ports, remove load bearing wall.....

I'm in Wisconsin USA and learned on the imperial system, but i'm wondering if I should start measuring things and using tools in Metric.

Any of you Americans make the switch and wish you did sooner?

Any not so obvious reasons why I should not and just stick to Imperial?

Is Metric more accurate or precise?

Jamie Buxton
07-12-2020, 10:27 PM
There's one more possibility: decimal inches. You get to use the decimal system, which is way better than fractions. And you get to use inches, which you and your suppliers both understand.

American machinists have been using decimal inches since the eighteenth century. That's why we have things like 45 and 22 caliber bullets -- that's .45" and .22".

Jim Matthews
07-12-2020, 10:31 PM
I measure parts off each other, to assure best fit.

Any measuring system that uses a tape measure, yard (or meter) stick or laser range finder is subject to transposition errors.

Marking pieces in place reduces such errors.

I favor a marking knife and double square for layout.

Jon Steffen
07-12-2020, 10:43 PM
There's one more possibility: decimal inches. You get to use the decimal system, which is way better than fractions. And you get to use inches, which you and your suppliers both understand.

American machinists have been using decimal inches since the eighteenth century. That's why we have things like 45 and 22 caliber bullets -- that's .45" and .22".
didn't know about that.
i'll have to see if incra, or the table saw I might get has rulers like that. Maybe wixey has a digital fence that also does inch-decimel. I feel like they would.

David Bassett
07-12-2020, 11:40 PM