PDA

View Full Version : Biscuit vs. Domino Joinery

Steve Mathews
06-13-2020, 4:46 PM
In an Ishitani video it shows him using 2 rows of biscuits to join some wood slabs together for a table top. In a Rob Cosman video he explains that 2 rows of splines were used to join the pieces to his workbench top. I've also seen where the Domino system is used for this purpose. As a novice woodworker I haven't used either methods yet but would like to know which one is better and why. Anyone?

Prashun Patel
06-13-2020, 5:07 PM
To join edges of a workbench or slab top, those guys are only using dominos, splines, and biscuits to help align the joint. The majority of the holding power will come from a properly jointed and glued edge.

It doesn’t matter too much which you use.

The choice of floating tenon would be more critical if one of the edges were end grain.

Andrew Hughes
06-13-2020, 5:15 PM
I think every little bit of long grain that’s taken away reduce the chance of having a very strong glue joint.
Some are will to trade that for aligning the tops of the boards.
What side will you take. :)

Steve Mathews
06-13-2020, 5:28 PM
I think every little bit of long grain that’s taken away reduce the chance of having a very strong glue joint.
Some are will to trade that for aligning the tops of the boards.
What side will you take. :)

Cosman mentioned that the double spline he used to align/join his workbench top was somewhat problematic. Some of the glue between the splines became trapped and prevented some of boards from joining properly. Makes sense.

So, as far as joining boards together the least amount of space taken up on long grain by a biscuit or tenon while providing alignment is better?

Jim Becker
06-13-2020, 5:53 PM