PDA

View Full Version : Help me identify this tool?

Bob Jones 5443
06-13-2020, 12:41 AM
I'm studying David Charlesworth's new The Through Dovetail DVD, and I've noticed a small precision square he uses to check squareness of tails with the face. Here are some unauthorized screen shots for reference (sorry, David):

434935 434936

Anyone have experience with this tool? Where can I get one?

Sterling Toolworks makes something similar, and maybe its rule's tiny end is even smaller than the one above, but I think the overall tool might be larger in the hand:

In the meantime, I've made a little one out of cherry that might end up serving me well enough, but I want to look at all the possible sources because I only want to do this once.

Thanks for the help.

Ray Newman
06-13-2020, 1:19 AM
Starrett 14D is similar: https://www.starrett.com/metrology/product-detail/14D

Highland Woodworking has a Vesper square: https://www.highlandwoodworking.com/vesper-double-square.aspx

Jim Koepke
06-13-2020, 2:13 AM
My first solution for a square to check dovetails was to make one:

It was nice having a square to check joinery. After a while one was purchased from Lee Valley > https://www.leevalley.com/en-us/shop/tools/hand-tools/marking-and-measuring/squares/72730-lee-valley-small-double-square

It is very useful. My shop made square was given to my grandson.

jtk

David Bassett
06-13-2020, 2:24 AM
... Anyone have experience with this tool? Where can I get one? ...

I'm not sure, it looks like the Lee Valley Small Double Square to me.

There are several small squares available. The Sterling, or the Sterling blade in a 2nd PEC double square body, was the first I was aware of. I think Chris Vesper makes a very nice one. I'm not sure who originated the idea or if anyone even claims to be first.