PDA

View Full Version : more about dial indicators

Chris Johnson
12-26-2005, 4:57 PM
How do use a dial indicator with a magnetic base to check your saw blade and fence. The way I understand it the base would need to be moved back and forth, from the front of the fence to the back to check its alignment. Same idea with the blade. I have seen indicators with miter bars but they cost at least twice as much. Obviously I have never used one of these before and I would like to tune my TS3650. Thank you all for the advice.

Chris

Ken Garlock
12-26-2005, 5:39 PM
Hi Chris. You are on the right track, you just need the correct tool. I bought an A-Line-It (http://www.in-lineindustries.com/a-line-it.html)that has a bar which fits in your miter slot. Just attach the gauge to it you you can slide the bar along to miter slot to make your readings. It makes life reatively easy:)

Welcome to the Creek, and Happy New Year.

Gregg Mason
12-26-2005, 9:04 PM
Same question as Chris. :rolleyes:

Tom Jones III
12-27-2005, 9:02 AM
I wanted the a-line product but did not want to spend the money, so here is what I did:

#1 Mill a piece of hardwood so that it slides in your mitre slot with no slop.

#2 Cut a 4" square from cheap sheet metal. Screw it into the wooden strip you made in step 1.

#3 Mount the magnetic base to the sheet metal.

#4 Set the sled and dial indicator at one end of the mitre slot. Bring the fence close enough that it registers on the indicator. Set the indicator to zero. Slide the sled down to the far end of the mitre slot, watching how the reading changes as you move. Adjust the fence to get it as parallel as you want it.

You should be able to do the same thing as step 4 to the blade to check it for parallel to the mitre slot.

Rick Lizek
12-27-2005, 9:50 AM