PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on planing technique.

Sam Shankar
04-15-2020, 7:34 PM
Hi folks. Plane newbie here. I've been trying to flatten my workbench top. No matter how many diagonal passes I make with my jointer plane, I always end up with a bit of a 'hump' in the middle. The good news is that it is reliable and reproducible, so I am guessing it's something wrong in my technique. In the picture below, you can see where I've scribbled pencil on the low spots of the workbench top. Those low spots are about .006" below the middle of the bench, which is otherwise flat. I know it's not easy to see but I didn't want to use a sharpie(!)

The top is 72" long x 28" wide. I am taking overlapping diagonal passes with a jointer plane, starting first on one side, and then switching to the other. I am struggling to maintain consistent fore-and-aft pressure on the plane over the length of those passes, and I suspect that is the issue. Any hints? Or should I just give up on doing big pretty passes and just shave away the middle with my #4?

justin sherriff
04-15-2020, 7:44 PM
If there is a hump in the middle just plane the middle. Go with the grain for a bit. Here is a nice video that could help you out may be. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2_96gNMMc_g

Derek Cohen
04-15-2020, 7:46 PM
Sam, determine where the hump is, mark the area, then plane this first. Ensure all high spots are removed before using winding sticks to square and level the bench top as a whole.

Regards from Perth

Derek

Robert Hazelwood
04-15-2020, 8:11 PM
I would dispense with the diagonal strokes and plane along the length. Take full-length passes along the length in the middle where you've indicated the top is high. Avoid doing passes towards the edge where you've marked with pencil.