PDA

View Full Version : Dial Indicators

Chris Damato
12-24-2005, 5:28 PM
Hi,

I am looking for opinions on which dial indicator to purchase. I am curious what models everyone else is using out there.

Thanks,

-Chris

Brian Hale
12-24-2005, 5:54 PM
I'm a machinist by trade so i've got several different brands but for woodworking, look for something with 1" of travel and $20 price range

Brian :)

Ken Fitzgerald
12-24-2005, 5:57 PM
I use some pretty expensive Starrett's at work but I agree with Brian...cheaper models would work great for the WW shop!

Russ Massery
12-24-2005, 6:55 PM
Same here I like the black faced ones I think there easier to read.

Dave Sweeney
12-24-2005, 9:34 PM
Believe it or not, the Harbor Freight 00623 1" Dial Indicator is very accurate. When its on sale it can usually be had for around $7.

Dave Lehnert
12-24-2005, 10:44 PM
I have the harbor freight model that runs on sale for around $15. It is a quality tool. Sorry. Not sure of the model number

Randy Meijer
12-25-2005, 1:52 AM
I have seen an opinion or two that recommend against dial indicators in WW shops. The thinking being that the dust will compromise the gear trains in the dials sooner or later. Anyone have a thought on this??

David Rose
12-25-2005, 4:08 AM
Randy, there is probably some truth to it, but most of even the cheapies are fairly well sealed. I've used a 2" one of the cheap variety for four years on my rounter table fence. Not a glitch so far. And it stays exposed all the time.

David

I have seen an opinion or two that recommend against dial indicators in WW shops. The thinking being that the dust will compromise the gear trains in the dials sooner or later. Anyone have a thought on this??

Russ Massery
12-25-2005, 8:49 AM