PDA

View Full Version : New woodworker with a question?

Ty wayne
03-23-2020, 4:36 PM
Hello all, I'm new to woodworking and I'm starting to purchase better tools. I purchased a Kobalt table saw years ago to get me by with small home renovations but I'm looking for something better. I stumbled across this Delta Unisaw and wanted to get the experts opinions on the condition and if I should look for anything in particular. The guy said it was his dad's and about 15-20 years old. He said his dad was a drinker and never finished putting it together. He's now trying to sell it but it has got quite a bit of rust from the pictures. I plan on looking at it this evening and I believe I could get it for $300-400. He said it has never been run. Any thoughts is much appreciated.

Bryan Lisowski
03-23-2020, 4:53 PM
The rust can't be dealt with. I would find out if it actually runs, if it does just listen for any rough sounds. I don't know if I would spend more than $325. Leave yourself some room in case you need to replace belts, bearings or other parts, which could be difficult to get from delta.

glenn bradley
03-23-2020, 4:58 PM
For another viewpoint, that's a $300 fence (https://www.performancetoolcenter.com/delta-bc50t2-biesemeyer-50-in-commercial-fence-and-rail-system-legs/?gclid=EAIaIQobChMI9Nbxrb6x6AIVAV8NCh3aWgCqEAQYAiA BEgK5ifD_BwE). Apparently some folks get even more for it. The saw is going to take some work to de-rust but, if you are willing to tinker with it a bit you should do OK. It will not have a riving knife which would be a deal breaker for me. <=== That comment will get a rousing holler from all the guys who have "run a saw without a guard for 40 years" but, saying something like that would put someone on my short list for advice as a newcomer. It is also right tilt, another deal breaker for me. YMMV but, I bet we will get some discussion going.

Bob Jones 5443
03-23-2020, 5:01 PM