PDA

View Full Version : finishing wood to get that old worn look

Josh Goldsmith
12-23-2005, 10:40 PM
Hello eveyone!!!! I am getting ready to build my brother a entertainment center. He wants it to look kind of old. I have never tried that before. My questions to you are:

1. What wood would you recommend. He wanted a medium brown color.

2. How do you "burn" the wood. Like around the corners and and other spots.

3. What finish would you recommend for a very active cabinet.

4. Anything else that i forgot that i need to make sure i address.

Thanks and in case i don't respond by christmas- I HOPE YOU HAVE A WONDERFUL CHRISTMAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D

Vaughn McMillan
12-24-2005, 3:38 AM
Josh, I've known people who've used a propane torch to burn the edges of pine. I think if you practice a bit on a piece of scrap, you'd get the hang of it. That said, if your brother wants a medium brown color, seems the burned edge look would be lost in the rest of the wood.

You can also "distress" the wood in other ways if he wants it to look old. I'm sure there are a whole slew of ways it can be done, but I've used chains to beat on wood to give it a distressed look. You have to kind of experiment to see what effects you can get, but a chain makes a somewhat random pattern of depressions if you apply it right. I've also heard of shooting a piece with a shotgun, and as much fun as that would be, it'd take some experimentation (let alone the proper place to do it) before trying it on an entertainment center. Have you considered using used wood? Depending on your location, there might urban recyclers and similar salvage dealers in your area that carry things like used lumber and building materials.