PDA

View Full Version : Anything Woodworking related in Salt Lake City, LA or surrounds?

Dominik Dudkiewicz
02-21-2020, 4:43 PM
Hi guys,

Coming to the states with my partner (who has a work thing) soon. Flying into LA for a few days then up to Salt Lake City, then driving back to LA over a week or so (maybe past the Grand Canyon, Zion National Park, Arizona Vegas, and maybe Joshua Tree.)

As a woodworker, I wonder if there is anything woodworking related I could or should see nearby? Can anyone recommend anything worth doing/seeing? Or are these areas woodworking-free zones? :).

Cheers, Dom

Steve Mathews
02-21-2020, 6:07 PM
Don't know if this fits your interest but while in Vegas you might want to stop by Woodworkers Emporium, a woodworking tool supplier specializing in woodturning equipment. The husband and wife owners are super friendly and often host events and classes featuring noted woodturners. The Emporium also stocks a large selection of other woodworking tools.

Thomas McCurnin
02-21-2020, 6:38 PM
Sam Maloof’s home is now a museum in Altadena, California.

Justin Rapp
02-21-2020, 6:54 PM
what specific types of things are you interested in seeing? Woodworking stores, Lumber suppliers? I have not been to any of these locations, just used the web to find em. I have been to other Rockler and Woodcraft stores.

hardwood lumber supply in Salt Lake: https://www.macbeath.com/

You can go check out a woodcraft store in salt lake city: https://www.woodcraft.com/stores/salt-lake-city

Depending on your route back to LA, there are a bunch of Rockler stores in Southern California: https://www.rockler.com/retail/stores/

what specific types of things are you interested in seeing? Woodworking stores,

David Bassett
02-21-2020, 8:06 PM
Gamble house in Pasadena.

Angel City Lumber (Urban Sawyers)

You have missed Lie-Nielsen at Palomar College and Angel City Lumber this year, but they'll be in Phoenix 3/20 & 21. (Sorta' maybe on your drive...?)