PDA

View Full Version : Show and Tell - My First Ever Coffee Table Build

JohnM Martin
02-12-2020, 10:42 PM
Recently I finished up my first coffee table build, and just wanted to share. I'm proud of it, but don't look too close, I'm a rookie afterall :) Overall this was a really enjoyable build. I bought the logs from a guy that had a storm take down the trees. I hauled the logs to my local sawmill where they were milled to 8/4 and 5/4 boards. Then, I had to let the wood air dry for a couple of years in my dad's barn. Finally, I was able to turn it into something - something that will (hopefully) outlive me.

I can't take credit for the design - inspired by a 1950s Jens Risom table I found somewhere online.

https://mattmartinbackup.s3.amazonaws.com/woodworking/coffeetable.mp4

Todd Zucker
02-12-2020, 11:38 PM
I like the design, and the Wood has some nice figure. What was the finish that you used?

JohnM Martin
02-13-2020, 9:11 AM
I like the design, and the Wood has some nice figure. What was the finish that you used?

Thanks, Todd. I used General Finishes Arm-R-Seal for the finish.

Frank Pratt
02-13-2020, 9:52 AM
That's a beautiful table John. I love Arm-R-Seal & it's probably the finish I use the most.

lowell holmes
02-13-2020, 10:05 AM
What wood did you use and what is the finish in it?
Nice table.

Bruce Volden
02-13-2020, 10:22 AM
John,
That is one nice looking table! I like the design and finish.
My tastes lend toward less sharp corners having had many foster children pass through here.

Bruce

JohnM Martin
02-13-2020, 11:04 AM
That's a beautiful table John. I love Arm-R-Seal & it's probably the finish I use the most.

Thank you, Frank. This is my 3rd piece I've finished with Arm-R-Seal and the best result yet. I think I am starting to get comfortable with it so I'm going to keep using it. I just wish it was more readily available.

JohnM Martin
02-13-2020, 11:05 AM
What wood did you use and what is the finish in it?
Nice table.