PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for tool sharpening on a lathe

Jake Vincent
01-30-2020, 12:32 PM
Hi Folks! Does anyone have experience with setting up a modified grinding wheel on a lathe for tool shaping/sharpening? I've got a Laguna 12|16 and it seems like a perfect candidate for it. It has a toggle switch for both forward and reverse, and has an rpm range from 650-3500. If I set that sucker to 650rpm and turned away from me, seems like I might could have a fairly simple (and economic) slow-speed grinder. I'm all about finding innovative solutions to shop needs that don't require additional tools, so if something like this is feasible, I'd like to try it out. Not at the expense of my current tools, of course, but that's why I'm posing the question to you fine folks.

I'm fairly new to turning and ended up picking up a sizable lot of lathe tools at auction for crazy cheap that are in not-great shape. They've got a LOT of potential though! I've been turning with the Rikon carbide set for the last year, and those work well for my beginner level, but if I can a) add to my collection, and b) hone my skills, I certainly would like to. If at all possible, I'll avoid getting a slow-speed grinder if I can set something up on the lathe to do the same job.

Any ideas, suggestions, or advice is greatly appreciated. (I couldn't find a thread with this info in my search, but I'm new to the forum and it may be a user-deficiency thing.)

Cheers!

David Bassett
01-30-2020, 12:38 PM
I can't think why you couldn't make it work mechanically, but do you really want the metal and abrasive grit any where near your lathe?

Jake Vincent
01-30-2020, 12:47 PM
I can't think why you couldn't make it work mechanically, but do you really want the metal and abrasive grit any where near your lathe?