PDA

View Full Version : Small Garage Dust Collection on a <1000$ budget

PHILIP MACHIN
01-15-2020, 10:55 AM
Good Morning all!

I'm a new woodworker, I've posted a few times now and you guys have been a tremendous amount of help so far. I appreciate all the advice.

My work area is about half of a 24 x 24 2 car garage. I've already seen from the few projects I've completed that dust control is a problem. My lungs were actually a little irritated after my last project. So since then I have purchased a respirator that I wear, unfortunately I have a huge beard that I'm not that willing to shave off so it doesn't have the best seal in the world. I also got a HEPA filter for my shop vac and started using it more with the tools that have ports, but it clogs up quite fast. I also set up a box fan to exhaust out the garage door.

So, I am interested in looking into improving my situation. I came across this blog https://www.danpattison.com/blog/2016/11/29/small-shop-dust-collection-solutions that seems to have a very economical and effective solution, and I wanted to get your opinions of it. The price is right, and he seems to operate in a similar sized shop. If you have any cheaper recommendations for similar equipment that'll get the job done, that is appreciated as well.

Dust collection seems to be a passionate topic for a lot of folks here, and I can appreciate that some people have the room/money to buy giant dedicated systems. I am trying to keep this less than 1,000$ though and I don't have the means to expand beyond my small shop at this time.

Thanks!

Phil

Prashun Patel
01-15-2020, 11:32 AM
I have a super dust deputy and a regular one for the shop vac. I like them both. They work as advertised.

If you can, vent the output of your blower outside; this will eliminate the need for a filter.

ChrisA Edwards
01-15-2020, 8:18 PM