PDA

View Full Version : Ridgid planer

Rick Peek
12-19-2005, 11:09 PM
Hello. I would like to intoduce myself. I'm fairly new to joinery
type woodworking,but have been slowly collecting tools and
getting my feet wet by doing small projects.I found this site
and love it. Its full of great info for a ham & egger like me.
I doing a fairly large built in using Tiger Maple & maple
plywood. Now for my main problem. I bought a new ridgid
planer,set it up & ran my first board thru. It pretty much
destroyed a $50 peice of wood. I tore chunks out of the
wood all over the face. This was on a very light cut. I
checked the blades,the looked o/k. I tried another peice
thinking maybe the board was slightly cupped. The same
thing happened. :( :confused: . Any ideas?

Ken Fitzgerald
12-20-2005, 4:35 AM
Rick...Welcome to the Creek! Neat place to exchange information!

I'm sure some of the experienced members will jump in and give you some advice. It's my understanding that figured wood can be difficult to plane or join. I also think that dull blades could be a problem. I'm sure some more experienced members will give their 0.02 worth.

Again....Welcome to the Creek!

Vaughn McMillan
12-20-2005, 5:39 AM
Rick, welcome to the Creek. Sorry to see you're having problems with your new planer. How does it do on a more typical board, like cheap 1 x pine? If it does OK on "normal" wood, then I'd guess it's the figure in the maple that's giving you the problems. OTOH, if the pine is messed up too, then you can narrow down the solution to something in the planer. (Exactly what, I'm not sure.) I know my little Delta benchtop planer (the Snipemaster) has problems with some of the nicer curly maple cutting boards I make, but it does pretty decently on more straight-grained wood, even maple. Birdseye maple also gives it fits.

And don't look at it as destroying a $50 piece of wood, but more as making some high-end hamster bedding. ;)

Hope this helps, and again, welcome -

- Vaughn

Byron Trantham