PDA

View Full Version : Which Mahogany is this?

Benjimin Young
12-28-2019, 1:55 PM
I was given a bunch of offcuts 6/4 and 8/4 mahogany, agreat xmas present;-) They came from a commercial shop (doors I think) so I am guessing they should be a popular commercially available type mahogany for Ontario Canada area, maybe African Mahogany, but... I am not very good at identifying wood and would value your opinions. The weight of a 357.19 cu/inch board (kiln dried) is 9.9208 lbs or 47.995 lb/ft3 if I did the math correctly.

What would do you think this is?

By the way, Happy New Year!

Doug Dawson
12-28-2019, 2:00 PM
I was given a bunch of offcuts 6/4 and 8/4 mahogany, agreat xmas present;-) They came from a commercial shop (doors I think) so I am guessing they should be a popular commercially available type mahogany for Ontario Canada area, maybe African Mahogany, but... I am not very good at identifying wood and would value your opinions. The weight of a 357.19 cu/inch board (kiln dried) is 9.9208 lbs or 47.995 lb/ft3 if I did the math correctly.

What would do you think this is?

Here's a good starting point: https://www.woodworkerssource.com/blog/wood-conversations/mahogany/

Also https://www.wood-database.com/wood-articles/mahogany-mixups-the-lowdown/
You can follow the links there in the "Wood Finder" for the various species to get the technical numbers (which are always just _averages_). Wood is an organic product.

Mel Fulks
12-28-2019, 2:55 PM
The pic shows a little twist in one of those small pieces, that makes me think it's African. It moves a lot more than
Honduras. So much that I consider it a bad buy in commercial shops. But a good deal when free!

Zachary Hoyt
12-28-2019, 3:02 PM