PDA

View Full Version : The right saw for dovetails and crosscuts

Mike Manning
12-23-2019, 11:23 AM
A current thread comparing old saw with new boutique saws reminded me I have no knowledge regarding the use of handsaws. I have plans to start making some boxes and picture frames. I would like to have a nice saw to cut the dovetails and possibly making 45° crosscuts for picture frames. What kind of saw would do both those jobs? I thought I would want a backsaw but it seems there's all kinds of names for saws. Without knowing what I should be looking for I thought I'd ask the collective brain trust here. I prefer vintage tools and am frankly too cheap to buy boutique tools. I'd even ask what brands are considered best. From reading here I'd guess old Disston and Atkins are good but how old? Are these similar to Stanley planes where the quality started to suffer after WWII? Is there a sweet spot of dates on these old saws I should be looking for? Thanks for any and all thoughts/info!

lowell holmes
12-23-2019, 11:37 AM
I suggest you try one of these

https://www.lowes.com/pd/VAUGHAN-Vaughan-Bear-Saw-5-5-in-Extra-Fine-Cut-Carpenter-Saw/1000218053

Then if you want to step up look at Lie Nielsen

https://www.highlandwoodworking.com/lie-nielsendovetailsaw.aspx

Doug Weiner
12-23-2019, 12:26 PM
If you want to experiment with Japanese saws, try out an inexpensive ‘Ryoba’. You’ll get both crosscut and rip in one saw and you can get a decent usable one for around $30.

Mike Manning
12-23-2019, 12:47 PM
Mods: Sorry I posted this in the wrong forum. Please move to the Neanderthal forum. Thanks!

Mike Manning
12-23-2019, 12:49 PM
Lowell, Doug,
I'll check around the shop. I know years ago I picked up some kind of Japanese saw at an estate sale, even had an extra blade as I recall. I'll post pics of it if I can find it. Maybe someone can tell me what kind of saw it is. Thanks for those recommendations.

Jim Koepke
12-23-2019, 4:05 PM