PDA

View Full Version : Cutting wood sheets - marks left by residue on table

david emery
12-09-2019, 5:13 PM
Hi. I am a newbie to laser cutting. We have a Trotec speedy 360 Flexx. I am cutting some simple wooden shapes from 3mm bamboo sheets. These are leaving a dirty residue on the aluminium grid table, meaning the backs of the cut shapes have dirty marks on each time.

I have tried raising the wooden sheets up by 3mm using some offcuts which does improve things a little, butwhen the pieces drop down they are still getting marks on them from the bed.

Has anyone else experienced this, and is there a solution?

Thank you.

Mike Null
12-09-2019, 5:54 PM
I am guessing that you are seeing "bounceback" from the grid. That is normal and a common problem. My solution has been to use an acrylic grid--be sure it's acrylic--instead of the aluminum grid. If you shop around you can find acrylic light diffusers at lighting wholesalers. I elevate mine off the table by about an inch.

The acrylic absorbs the beam instead of reflecting it.

Jerome Stanek
12-09-2019, 6:04 PM
I am guessing that you are seeing "bounceback" from the grid. That is normal and a common problem. My solution has been to use an acrylic grid--be sure it's acrylic--instead of the aluminum grid. If you shop around you can find acrylic light diffusers at lighting wholesalers. I elevate mine off the table by about an inch.

The acrylic absorbs the beam instead of reflecting it.

Make sure it is acrylic and not styrene

david emery
12-10-2019, 6:06 AM
Thanks for the reply. I tried making a new table using acrylic slats, however when the laser cut any areas of wood that were resting on the acrylic, I got burn marks on the wood. Also, using this method there is no way for me to tape down any warped sheets to flatten them down as I can do with the grid table.

Thanks.

John Lifer
12-10-2019, 12:27 PM