PDA

View Full Version : Ideas for refrigerator magnets? (Without turning them)

Günter VögelBerg
11-29-2019, 12:49 AM
I know this is not exactly the pinnacle of fine woodworking. Bear with me. A guy I work with (an engineer) was asked by his wife to find some strong magnets to hold stuff on their fridge. Like any good engineer he procured a big box of neodymium magnets and considered the problem solved. The next day he comes in confused and says "She says I need to get pretty magnets". He is confounded by the request because he considers the task fulfilled. I said "this is why you are an engineer and I am a project manager. Give me your magnets. I'll fix it."

I have a lathe but I have never really liked turning. I haven't used it in about ten years. I opened my toolbox and my turning tools all need to be re-ground
and the jaws are in pieces. I would have to learn basic turning again and I dont really have time or inclination for that this weekend.

Does anyone have any good ideas I can use to make some attractive fridge magnets?

Bill Dufour
11-29-2019, 1:11 AM
Glue on some pretty buttons or drawer knobs. Hot glue is your friend here.
Bil lD

Rick Potter
11-29-2019, 2:01 AM
Inexpensive chess pieces. Cheap, easy, and gives her leverage needed to move the magnets.

Tom Trees
11-29-2019, 3:11 AM
Sneak one away to the workshop and stick it to a pencil parer.

Lee Schierer
11-29-2019, 7:31 AM
My first step would be to check the refrigerator and insure the door isn't stainless steel where the magnets may not stick. Then I would consider making small signs with cute sayings, hearts, trees, etc with a jig saw or really fine bandsaw. Embed the magnets in the back, do some finishing and you are done.

Frederick Skelly
11-29-2019, 8:42 AM