PDA

View Full Version : Hi, new to the forum...have a question.

Stan DelAmitri
12-18-2005, 2:18 PM
Hi all...looking to hook my dad up with a new table saw blade for Christmas (he's got 1958 Craftsman that he bought used in '63...weighs 'bout a million pounds)...he's a professional cabinet maker and rips a whole lot of veneered plywood. Hinted around at what blade he uses...found he's running a CMT 10" Fine Finish blade, series 255...I can't seem to find too many reviews on CMT blades, but I've read a ton of great things about Forrest blades...the one that I found comparable would be the Forrest Duraline HI-A/T DH10807125 .125 kerf)...wanted to get yer input on CMT vs Forrest...thanx loads and Merry Christmas! :D

Ken Fitzgerald
12-18-2005, 2:22 PM
Stan....Welcome to the Creek! A neat place to exchange information! I'm sure some of our members will gladly answer your question.

aaron allen
12-18-2005, 2:33 PM
Welcome Stan.. I'm a newbie too, but it seems like a good bunch. The Forrest blades are great, but we hafata send them back to Forrest to get them sharpened properly. Now others may not agree, but they should be sharpened under coolant at least. Not sure about your saw ( horsepwr) but we run a thin kerf blade with a zero tolerance throat plate.

Tyler Howell
12-18-2005, 2:40 PM
Aaron and Stan Welcome to the Creek. Great bunch of folks here.

tod evans
12-18-2005, 2:46 PM
stan and aaron, welcome! stan, yes forrest makes good blades and if i had to choose between the two you list forrest would be my choice..02 tod

Doug Shepard
12-18-2005, 3:37 PM