PDA

View Full Version : Aniline dye frustrations

Bruce Page
09-14-2019, 1:42 PM
This is my first time using aniline dye. The instructions say to add to mediums such as benzol, touol, turpentine, Naptha, lacquer thinner, tung oil, etc. and stir frequently for the first hour. I chose to use turpentine. I’ve been stirring it frequently for a few hours and it simply is not dissolving. Am I doing something wrong? I chose turpentine only because it seemed less volatile. Should I use something else?

John TenEyck
09-14-2019, 3:52 PM
What specific product are you using?

Bruce Page
09-14-2019, 4:02 PM
What specific product are you using?

J.E. Moser's aniline dye stain #845247

Several reviews say it's easily mixed so I must be doing something wrong.

Edward Dyas
09-14-2019, 4:13 PM
I've never used that product. The internet says that dye you have is water soluble. I've always used Mohawk Ultra Penetrating Stain. It comes already mixed with alcohol.

Scott T Smith
09-14-2019, 4:20 PM
Bruce, it sounds like you have the instructions for their oil based product, but actually have a water based product. I’ve had similar problems with trying to use water based dye in oil.

Try it in water and see how it mixes.

Bruce Page
09-14-2019, 4:23 PM
I've never used that product. The internet says that dye you have is water soluble. I've always used Mohawk Ultra Penetrating Stain. It comes already mixed with alcohol.
Ed, Scott, the directions say it is water, alcohol, & oil soluble. I’m trying to stain some MDF so I didn’t want to go with water. I may have no choice.

Edward Dyas
09-14-2019, 4:26 PM
Try lacquer thinner. It has alcohol in it. The dye I use you can mix into a lacquer finish.

Scott T Smith
09-14-2019, 4:30 PM
Ed, Scott, the directions say it is water, alcohol, & oil soluble. I’m trying to stain some MDF so I didn’t want to go with water. I may have no choice.

Bruce, why don’t you just try mixing up some small samples, solely for the intent of seeing what it will mix in?