PDA

View Full Version : Tool Stores in VA?

Keith Starosta
07-07-2003, 9:57 AM
Good morning, Gentlemen! I've been lurking at the Saw Mill for a couple of weeks now, but this is my first post. I've been somewhat interested in woodworking for as long as I can remember, but have just very recently decided that it would become my new "passion". The words and pictures posted by you guys are an inspiration indeed.

Today's question goes out to any/all of my Central Virginia Brethren out there. Other than the Big Box stores, are there any actual tool stores in the area? I'm fairly new to the Fredericksburg area and would love to start rooting out all the "toy" stores.

Thanks, guys!!

Keith

Greg Wandless
07-07-2003, 12:41 PM
Keith,

While it be a bit of a drive for you, there is WOODCRAFT in Springfield, and Fries Beall & Sharp in Lorton VA.

Check your yellow pages.

Cheers,
Greg

Bobby Hatfield
07-07-2003, 1:17 PM
Keith, check out Earls, if it is still there, lots of Delta goodies, then another place downtown with Powermatic. I'm sure they sold the ones I drooled on some time back while on a visit. Maybe Byron Trantham will chime in here, he lives there in Fburg.

Von Bickley
07-07-2003, 2:13 PM
Keith,
I don't know anything about wood stores in VA, but I'm glad to see you posting at the Creek. Lots of good people here that enjoy talking about wood working.

Keith Outten
07-07-2003, 2:46 PM
Keith S.

I used to live in Spotsylvania County in the 70's. In the old section of downtown Fredricksburg you will find "Fredricksburg Hardware" and it's absolutely a great place to visit. Not exactly a tool store but it dates from Colonial times and they still have some antiques hanging on the walls. You have to visit this store, it's like stepping back in time.

Welcome to SawMill Creek!

Don Abele
07-07-2003, 5:11 PM