PDA

View Full Version : Beall buffing system

Thomas Wilson80
08-23-2019, 2:05 PM
Hi All,

Still relatively new to turning and have mostly done bowls finished with Danish oil. I have just started doing some smaller hollow forms and am looking at lacquer finishes (I don't have a sprayer yet but have some Deft wipe on lacquer) and in reading how to finish, I'm getting the impression that most people buff for the final process and I'm not very familiar with this at all and was hoping for some input.

What are the recommended buffing options? I've read a lot about the Beall system and was thinking of ordering that from Craft Supplies with an extension to be able to use on the lathe. Anyone use the bowl buffers too, and if so, recommendations on 3" vs 4"?

Any tips, suggestions, alternatives?

Thanks,
Tom

Dick Mahany
08-23-2019, 3:04 PM
I am by no means an expert, but I have used the Beall Buffing system and it is wonderful on certain woods where one doesn't want to add a finish and simply wants to highlight the natural color and beauty of the wood. In the piece below it was sanded to 320 grit then polished with the Beall Buffing system (Tripoli, White Diamond and finally Carnauba wax). The platter is 12" dia x 2" thick and it imparted a beautiful glossy finish that is slick to the touch and food safe. Another benefit to the system is that it produces resuts fast. No waiting for finishes to dry, no sanding in between coats, simply change buffing wheels, charge with compound and buff away. One down side is that if the piece being polished is not presented to the spinning wheels correctly or if one doesn't have a firm grip, your hard work can be turned into a frisbee in a nanosecond. ( I know this to be true :o )

The White diamond can be tricky on open grain woods, especially dark colored woods and nearly impossible to remove from the pores.

I have tried the bowl buffing system and have only a little experience with it, but it produced a similar finish.