PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions needed for turning a bell

Curtis O. Seebeck
12-12-2005, 12:08 PM
I would really like to turn a wooden bell for my mother for christmas. It doesn't look all that hard but I am still fairly new to turning. Here is my thoughts on the sequence. Please let me know if I should do it another way.

1. mount blank in chuck
2. turn outside bell profile
3. hollow inside
4. turn handle
5 finish
6. part off
7. turn ringer
8. install ringer

Anything I have missed or should do different? Would a wood ringer work fine or should I use somthing else? What mounting the ringer to the bell? What would work best?

Thanks for any and all advice.

Andy Hoyt
12-12-2005, 12:19 PM
Do you want the ringer to wiggle or be stationary?

Curtis O. Seebeck
12-12-2005, 12:22 PM
Andy,

Not exactly sure what you mean by stationary. I do want it to work, even though the sound may not be good. My mom collects bells and I thought it would be really special to make one out of mesquite for her.

Andy Hoyt
12-12-2005, 12:37 PM
Stationary would be the opposite of wiggle/dangle/bang against side of bell/ring (sort of - in this instance given that it's wood). Using hardwoods of differing densities might provide "some" tonal quality - maybe/perhaps/could be?

Here's what I'd do - I think.

The ringer is a simple shaft with a ball on one end - easy to do between centers.

Turn a second ball. Drill hole in ball to match ringer shaft diameter.

The bell itself. Think of it as a bowl with an unusual shape. The "bottom of the bowl has an opening through it for the shaft of the ringer. But here's the tricky part. On the "outside bottom of the bowl" turn a coved recess that has a shouldered (or rabbetted) edge a teeny bit larger than the second ball. Insert ringer shaft through hole and glue second ball to shaft.