PDA

View Full Version : Router Pilot Bit Offset

Vince Shriver
05-29-2019, 11:50 PM
I have several pilot bits (in a set) that the bearing diameter is slightly larger than the cutting diameter. I'm assuming that is for leaving laminate with a small "overhang" over the sub straight so adjacent laminate can be fitted up against it at 90 degree. Is that the reason?

Frank Pratt
05-29-2019, 11:54 PM
That kind of work flow makes no sense to me, but I'm far from a laminate pro. They sound like some kind of special purpose set to me. I'm curious too.

Jamie Buxton
05-30-2019, 12:01 AM
Perhaps it has to do with the manufacturing tolerance of sharpening carbide cutting edges. The bearing OD is extremely precise, but maybe they can't hold that precision in grinding the cutting edge, and they think users would rather have the overhang you describe than an "underhang".

Vince Shriver
05-30-2019, 12:28 AM
That's a thought, Jamie, but these are premium bits, and in the same set as precisely aligned bits. These have been deliberately sold that way for a specific reason I believe.

Ken Andersen
05-30-2019, 1:53 AM
I can't quite imagine the bit you are describing. Could you post a reference to it? (manufacturer, model). Thanks.

Vince Shriver
05-30-2019, 5:32 AM
I can't quite imagine the bit you are describing. Could you post a reference to it? (manufacturer, model). Thanks.