PDA

View Full Version : First Table Saw- Delta 36-725 vs SawStop

Jacob Atwell
05-11-2019, 11:04 AM
I am looking to buy my first table saw and I am having a tough time making a decision. I was hoping you guys/gals could maybe give me some input. For a little background, I am pretty new to the hobby. I have done a lot of pretty simple shop projects, and a few fairly simple things for the house. I知 looking to dive a little deeper into the hobby, and would like to purchase a table saw. On one hand I want to buy the SawStop for the safety feature, higher quality saw, and the whole buy once cry once thing. On the other hand I think that maybe I should buy a cheaper saw to make sure I will use it enough to justify spending 3k on the SawStop. Then later on if I feel the need to upgrade I can sell the delta and buy what I want. What do you all think?

Frank Pratt
05-11-2019, 11:17 AM
Something to consider is that if you go with a SawStop & then bail on the hobby, they tend to keep their value a lot better than the Delta would.

Ron Selzer
05-11-2019, 11:54 AM
Something to consider is that if you go with a SawStop & then bail on the hobby, they tend to keep their value a lot better than the Delta would.
x2
used Delta saws or any table saws don't seem to keep a high resale value around here, what few SawStops I have seen listed seem to move quick with a good resale price
I started with a very cheap saw, fence moved even when clamped down if enough pressure was put against it. had to measure both ends of fence to set it. lack of power, blade actually moved sideways in a hard cut, etc Still made some furniture that I use today 35+ yrs later. Still have all of my fingers and thumbs. Upgraded to a Delta contractors saw, Jet contractor saw was not good quality back then. Finally moved up to a SawStop ICS with all available options at that time 5k+. Forrest rip blade, Forrest Dado set, etc
Life is sure easier now