PDA

View Full Version : Help me get this color right.....

Terry Hatfield
07-05-2003, 9:00 PM
Hey guys,

Well I'm finally trying to get finished with the display cabinets for my mother. I'm up to the staing stage and I got a problem.

I took a piece of the moulding from her house to Lowes with me and decided that the Early American Minwax stain looked really close. Problem is the mouldings and existing shelves in this room are all fir or pine. The display cabinets are red oak. The "tint" of the color looks right but the oak will not accept nearly as much of the stain as the fir/pine did so it looks way too light.

Any suggestions??? I have tried mixing other stains etc.... No good. Would a dye work better?? If so please suggest for me what to get and how to do it. I have never used a dye before.

TIA,

Terry

Terry Quiram
07-06-2003, 7:46 AM
Terry

Last year my wife and I matched a new Oak table top to an antique apron and legs. After a lot of experimenting with color combinations we ended up starting with orange dye, then a very diluted walnut oil stain, 3 coats of spanish oak oil stain, then finished with the colored min-wax poly. It wans't exact, but close. I enjoyed the experimenting much more that applying the finish to the end product.

It ain't science. :D

Terry

Gary Hern
07-06-2003, 8:06 AM
Hi Terry,

I've had to try to match a few pieces of work for customers, and drove myself batty on the first attempt. I've since given up trying to concoct my own mixture for matches. I have a place called paint supply relatively close to me, and they color match for me. Costs a little more, but they have gotten it right 5 times now, without having to return for a trip. I also had a Porter store do it for me with good results. Take them a piece, and let them run it through their scanner, and they should do a good job for you. On commercial work where time is money, this is a dirt cheap way of doing it!

Byron Trantham
07-06-2003, 8:33 AM