PDA

View Full Version : Diagnosing and dialing in Fiber laser settings

eric pearson
04-30-2019, 6:02 PM
I see several post that ask for particular settings etc. How can we start a discussion on what to look for in settings and how to decide what steps to take? I am new to fiber lasers and have a few questions in hopes that i can eventually read my work to improve it. I have downloaded the TYMKA book and loaded those settings into an Excel sheet if anyone likes.

Maybe this thread could be the discussion starter.

From my reading lower frequency is deeper engrave. higher frequency is more heat less engrave?

Can we just run full speed until we run out of power, then back the speed down?

Also would be useful I saw a youtube video of somebody running a sample card in which a test block of several speeds powers and frequencies were run accross the spectrum so you could easily pic the effect you prefer, this test fife could then just be run on each material type?

Gary Hair
04-30-2019, 6:22 PM
I wish it were as simple as full speed until you run out of power, like it can be with a co2. The beauty of the fiber is that you can find myriad settings with varying power/speed/freq/hatch settings that will yield the exact same results. You will also find varying one setting may give you wildly different results that are 100% non-intuitive - you would never in a million years deduce the results from the settings. As an example - I have marked hundreds of Magpul iPhone cases and the one setting that took them from making a mark that looked like black, burnt, mashed potatoes, to a beautiful tan color that had no texture, was the hatch spacing. Too close and you get the potato finish, too far apart and you get nothing, hit the sweet spot and you get beauty!