PDA

View Full Version : A few carvings ** PICS **

Ken Salisbury
12-09-2005, 1:07 PM
In a recent thread on my health I mentioned I had done some carvings and the "pic police" berated me for not posting pics.

Due to my battling of lung cancer and on going respritory problems my doctors have barred me from any shop work :mad: . I needed to find something wood related to do to keep from going batty. So why not try some carving.

Since I had never done any carving at all , I bought a few books and some basic carving tools and tried my hand at it. I am not very good at it, at least not yet. It is satisfying and time consuming. Maybe if I keep at it I will get a little better.

My first 7 pieces:

Three more Santas in the middle of the painting process:

The beginng of another:

The first 2 tries of some small Ozark characters (shown painted in the first pic above:

Bernie Weishapl
12-09-2005, 1:15 PM
Ken those are awesome. I like carving to although I don't have much time for it now. I hope I will have the time when I retire. Hope you are feeling better and on the road to recovery.

Bob Noles
12-09-2005, 1:25 PM
Ken,

Those are very nice and I appreciate your talent. Carving is not something I can even dream to attempt as I have no artistic blood in my veins at all.

As Bernie expressed, we are all hoping and praying for your speedy recovery. Always good to see a post from you.

Matt Crew
12-09-2005, 1:38 PM
Don't say you don't have a talent for carving, as Tony would say," they're grrrrreeeaaatttt!!!!"
I couldn't draw a striaght line with out the help of a straight edge, and then its tough.
Hope your doing alright, and have a speedy recovery.

lloyd morris
12-09-2005, 1:49 PM
Ken,

Your carvings are exceptional. I wish I had the talent for carving that you have. All my carvings look very crude by comparison.

Lloyd Morris

Bill Sampson
12-09-2005, 2:05 PM