PDA

View Full Version : Sphere Hollow Form

Jim Ketron
12-07-2005, 6:16 PM
This is my first attempt at a sphere shaped hollow form. After seeing the one Chris posted a week or so ago I had to give it a try. It's Box Elder with curl and red flame, the collar is Bloodwood (thanks Travis)
Finish is 2 coats of Gel Poly and buffed on the Beall. It measures a little over 4"

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b201/Jim_k/SphereHollowForm3.jpg

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b201/Jim_k/SphereHollowForm2.jpg

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b201/Jim_k/SphereHollowForm.jpg

Jim Becker
12-07-2005, 6:18 PM
Ha! A "well rounded" effort! LOL! (Seriously, really nice work, Jim! I like it A LOT)

John Hart
12-07-2005, 6:44 PM
Beautiful Work Jim All-A-Round!! I love your choice of color and the wood is fantastic.

Bruce Shiverdecker
12-07-2005, 6:53 PM
Darn.....................YOU>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>ARE>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD!

Bruce

Ernie Nyvall
12-07-2005, 6:56 PM
Wow Jim, that looks great!!

Ernie

John Miliunas
12-07-2005, 7:08 PM
Mr. Ketron, you're just killin' me over here!!!:( First, you keep coming up with these phenomenal chunks 'o wood and then you transform them into stuff I can only dream about! Nice work, dude!:D First attempt, huh? Yup, yer killin' me over here!:) :cool:

Travis Stinson
12-07-2005, 7:10 PM
Still looks great Jim! Good job on every aspect.:D

Carole Valentine
12-07-2005, 7:34 PM
Lookin' good Jim! I have a problem with spherical shapes on the net...don't know if it is my monitor or my glasses. Yours looks to me like it may need squashing just a tiny tad to be spherical, but for all I can tell it maybe a perfect sphere!:D I think maybe the size of the collar could be throwing off my persepctive too.

Andy Hoyt
12-07-2005, 7:39 PM
Nice piece, Jim. You're an all around turner:)

Bill Stevener
12-07-2005, 8:27 PM
Very nice looking hollow form Jim, How do you do the back side?

Bill.>>>>>>>>>:)

Gary DeWitt
12-07-2005, 9:27 PM