PDA

View Full Version : To thin or not to thin, that's your question...

Justin Ludwig
03-16-2019, 8:21 AM
This thread is spurned from many posts I've read and an experience I had yesterday.

I hope this thread is one that anyone can turn to for a little information on thinning (or not) their material. Everything I provide below is based up MY EXPERIENCE and trials and tribulations! Take it for what it's worth. Please add to the discussion and if you read something that makes you say, "OMG Lud, why did/do you do that?" LET ME KNOW!!! I only want to get better.

Full disclosure: I'm not a pro, but I can lay down some nice finish and I've only been finishing for about 4-5 years. And I live in an area of very high humidity fluctuations.

------------------------------------

Read your product's PDS and SDS - seriously! There is good information in there. I have a folder on my PC with a PDS of every product I use - I have not come across a manufacture that isn't helpful if you ask them questions. I've found ML Campbell to be the most responsive.

Thinning or Reducing, (would someone that uses WB exclusive please chime in on their experiences):

High Build NC Lacquers (20-25% solids by volume) - unless you're matching an existing finish - shy away from NC lacquer as there are SO MANY better products. This product is HOT and will dry fast, spray too thick of a coat and it skim over on top and them you may get solvent pop; solvents trying to dissipate and bubbling up through the skimmed over top. If you thin the material with lacquer thinner, it becomes HOTTER, dries faster, and reduces the solids in your finish. NC lacquers are extremely sensitive to humidity and blushing. Adding thinner does not help. To prevent blushing you have to add a retarder to slow the drying process. Even if you've added the 3-5% retarder recommended by manufacturer - don't ever spray NC lacquers when humidity is 80% or higher - you will pull your hair out.