PDA

View Full Version : An introduction and table saw question

Marcus Ward
12-06-2005, 8:57 PM
Hi, I'm new here, but from the looks of the place I will be spending a lot of time here. I've been a woodworker off and on since my high school days and am comfortable with most aspects of the craft. My wife and I just bought a house and are planning on furnishing it mission style. Since we're not rich, I'll be building the pieces rather than buying them. This serves 2 purposes, one, I get nice furniture, and 2, I finally get to build a wood shop like I've always wanted to do.

My father in law sold me his new unused craftsman table saw #24884. It's okay, I realize you guys use a lot nicer stuff. One concern I have is that the track for the miter tool and other accessories has a couple of ears along its length, keeping the tools in the track but not allowing me to use more conventional accesories. What should I do about this (besides get rid of the saw and get a better one). Can I just file them off? How would you guys approach this? Thanks in advance for your wisdom and hospitality.

Marcus

Jim Hager
12-06-2005, 9:12 PM
Welcome to the creek Marcus. You will like it here. You will fit in just fine as the most of the rest of us are just poor folks too.

I have not had much experience with a craftsman table saw but is what you are mentioning the t-slot in which the mitre guage washer goes into in order to hold the mitre guage head if it is off the table?? If that is the case leave it alone because the standard mitre guage and other accessories should fit it fine unless it is one of their saws they made with non-standard slots. If that is the case if you get off the shelf accessory items it will probably have to be from Sears. I hate it when they do that, don't you.

Alan Turner
12-06-2005, 9:15 PM