PDA

View Full Version : Experience with Rakuten.com?

Gary Ragatz
03-03-2019, 3:50 PM
I've been wanting to buy a DeWalt dado stack (DW7670), and after shopping around, Rakuten.com seems to have the best price ($123 + sales tax, free shipping), but I have no experience with them. It's only $5-$6 less than the next best price, but that would buy a mug of good beer :).

Any feedback on experience with Ratkuten?

Mike Henderson
03-03-2019, 4:36 PM
I don't know anything about Rakuten but I wouldn't risk it for $5 or $6 dollars if your next lowest price is from a known, reputable source.

Mike

marlin adams
03-03-2019, 5:58 PM
its Ebates but changed their name but if the same people are running it (Ebates) then they are okay. My wife bought a few things from ebates and seems happy with them.

Jim Becker
03-03-2019, 7:28 PM
its Ebates but changed their name but if the same people are running it (Ebates) then they are okay. My wife bought a few things from ebates and seems happy with them.
Yes, I was just going to mention this...I'm a long, long time EBates user and just got notice of the name change. What's nice about the EBates/Rakuten setup is that you not only get cash-back rebates, but you also often get direct access to discounts/coupons when you go to a vendor's page.

Paul F Franklin
03-03-2019, 7:30 PM
I don't put blind trust in trustpilot, but it can be a useful site when thinking about using a new online store. At least as a data point. Rakuten has a lot more negative reviews than positive there.
You have to be careful because reviews are filtered so + ratings show first so you have to click on the graph to see the negative reviews.

Edit: And I should say that trustpilot has been criticized as being less than scrupulous about ensuring reviews are real....so you have to keep that in mind.

Jim Becker
03-03-2019, 7:35 PM
Strange...I've never had an issue with EBates and this is just a name change. They like to send me money...and they do.

marlin adams