PDA

View Full Version : Talk to me about HVLP

Phillip Mitchell
02-26-2019, 9:54 AM
I've got an upcoming job that requires more painted wood than I want to do with a brush and am considering tooling up to be set up to spray. Materials to spray for this job includes nickel gap (interior shiplap boards), built-in plywood boxes, and interior wood trim which will all be white. I'm considering Target Coatings waterborne pigmented laquer with a custom tint, but I have no practical experience doing this method of painting. I've simply read and heard about this being a good option for spraying.

I've worked as a carpenter for years and generally always pre-finish (both stain and paint grade) the interior trim off site, then install carefully on site. What will it be like trying to fill any small nail holes after installation in pre-finished, sprayed (with pigmented laquer or similar) and then spot painting the filled holes? Should I expect / budget for having to go in at the end and mask off and respray the trim after filling nail holes or is there a better way. This is less of an issue with stain grain or brushed on paint, but its still a small detail that has always bothered me with trim work. It can come out sloppy if you're not anal about it, but I've never done it with sprayed trim. I'm trying to avoid on site finishing as much as possible, both for my own inconvenience as well as the clients' sensitivity, but a small amount of "touch up" could be accounted for it absolutely necessary.

There will also be a large amount of naturally finished Cherry. Considering a seal coat of shellac with Waterlox of something similar as a top coat. Is HVLP a good setup for spraying shellac?

I have no experience using HVLP, and have read some threads and begun to do some research, but just thought I'd post a thread as well for hopefully some more specific answers and advice from those more experienced. Thanks in advance for any info.