PDA

View Full Version : Laguna 14SE or Delta X5 28-475X Bandsaw?

Murray Hensch
12-06-2005, 10:23 AM
I am considering the purchase of a 14" bandsaw, and have narrowed my choices to the Laguna 14SE or the Delta X5 (28-475X). I would appreciate any comments that may assist my making an appropriate choice.

Ken Shoemaker
12-06-2005, 1:55 PM
Murry,
I'm pretty new to the Creek. If you look a little farther back in the threads I reviewed the X5. I just put mine together last week end. Haven't used it too much, only for some test cuts that pretty went well.

I hope the post helps.

Good luck... Ken

Jeff Sudmeier
12-06-2005, 2:00 PM
Murray,

Welcome to the creek! You have joined a great forum.

I have a Laguna Resaw master and love it, but I haven't used a Delta bandsaw.

Lee DeRaud
12-06-2005, 2:10 PM
IIRC, the Laguna has quite a bit more resaw capacity, so you'll have to add the riser kit (~$90) to the Delta to get an apples-apples comparison.

Murray Hensch
12-06-2005, 2:27 PM
One of the pieces of information I am particularly interested in is:
What is the bandsaw tension capability?
I understand the max capability for the Delta X5 is ~15,000PSI.
Anyone know (measured) the max tension capability for the Laguna 14SE?
Anyone out there own a Laguna 14SE?

Lee DeRaud
12-06-2005, 4:23 PM
I understand the max capability for the Delta X5 is ~15,000PSI.Does Not Compute: one of the components of tension PSI is the cross-section of the blade, so that "max capability" is only applicable to one blade size (presumably the widest the saw can handle). For narrower blades, the max tension available is proportionally higher.

Brad Olson
12-06-2005, 4:30 PM
One of the pieces of information I am particularly interested in is:
I understand the max capability for the Delta X5 is ~15,000PSI.
Anyone know (measured) the max tension capability for the Laguna 14SE?
Anyone out there own a Laguna 14SE?

For 14" saws this really is a non issue because you won't be running 1" blades.