PDA

View Full Version : Hammer A3-41 on the way - moving it up steep driveway

Scott Bernstein
02-25-2019, 7:57 AM
After reviewing multiple threads on various J/P combo machines I finally pulled the trigger on a Hammer A3-41 for my two-car garage shop. Judging by the specifications it should fit well enough in my space, especially with the mobility kit - we'll see how well it actually moves on my extremely rough garage floor. In case, that is a minor issue compared to moving it up my driveway from the curb into the garage. It's a blacktop driveway, about 60 feet long with an average grade of 25%, peek grade 30%. I've contacted a local professional rigging company who will be more than happy to do the move for me, and get it off the pallet...for a professional fee. I've also looked at other options like motorized pallet jacks or renting a telescopic handler to do the job myself, but since I have no experience with either of these I just don't feel comfortable with operating that type of heavy equipment on such a steep grade. I would rather not take the machine apart. I suppose I could do it with a rented pickup truck that has a lift gate, plus a pallet jack but renting both of these for a day or two, plus the time it would take may not be worth it compared to hiring the pros. I imagine they can do the job in 20 minutes or less. Any thoughts on moving an almost-1000# crate up a 30% grade?

Scott

Rod Sheridan
02-25-2019, 8:11 AM
I would suggest a winch pulling a pallet jack.

When we do this we put a strap around the machine on the pallet and pull it with the winch............Rod.

P.S. Nice machine.

Scott Bernstein
02-25-2019, 8:41 AM
Thought about that, too - but I don’t have a winch and i’m not sure what I would anchor it to

Yathin Krishnappa
02-25-2019, 9:24 AM