PDA

View Full Version : This Weekend's Safety Lesson: Drive Belts

Vaughn McMillan
12-05-2005, 4:04 AM
Had two incidents this weekend that I figured might be worth mentioning, so others maybe can avoid them.

I got a little Delta Snipemaster Planer a month or so ago, and while using it Saturday, I heard the motor slow down a bit and smelled a whiff of burning rubber. I shut it down, unplugged it, peeked around inside (but didn't open it up), saw nothing amiss, so I figured it was just a bit of belt slipping, and I continued planing away. A bit later I was using it again, and it did the same thing, but worse. This time, I noticed a few globs of hardened melted plastic on the inside, so I took off the side panel and found what's in the picture below. This is what's left of the cheap little (clip-on) plastic cutter head drive belt cover after it gets loose and straddles the drive belt for a few board feet of curly maple.

This pic shows where the plastic cover is supposed to be. I think it'll be just fine without it.

Incident #2 started while running the table saw last night. At one point, I saw a small spark in the area of the motor as I was running the saw, but the saw didn't skip a beat, so I figured it was either a speck of sawdust that had gotten in the wrong part of the motor (a stupid thought, in retrospect), or a figment of my imagination. I continued using the saw off and on for another hour or two with no incidents. Then today, I was setting up to do the first cut of the day, and needing to change baldes, I unplugged the saw, removed the ZCI, and started cranking the blade up. While doing this and looking through the hole in the table top, I noticed I could see the the power cable, and it was moving as I moved the blade...neither of which I'd seen before. The power cable is supposed to be below all that stuff.