PDA

View Full Version : Internet security

Brian Deakin
01-16-2019, 7:58 AM
Every year since we first purchased a computer I have purchased McAfee internet protection

In 2 weeks time our current subscription requires renewing

My wife is reluctant to change but does it make sense to purchase another package or are there free alternatives which would provide protection

What would other members do/advise

regards Brian

John Lanciani
01-16-2019, 8:17 AM
Malwarebytes. I've been using the paid version for several years so that I don't have to bother doing manual updates but the free version functions just as well.

michael langman
01-16-2019, 10:00 AM
I second Malewarebytes. Works well for me too.

Jim Becker
01-16-2019, 10:28 AM
Malwarebytes is excellent if you want a free/pay-for application. But honestly, on the few Windows instances I have, I just use the Microsoft AV that's already included with the OS.

Doug Garson
01-16-2019, 12:14 PM
I'll be watching this thread, my renewal date is approaching. I've been using Bitdefender for several years, no complaints about the software but 2 years in a row they have messed up my renewal and are very slow to sort it out. I'll be switching to another program this year so maybe I'll try Malwarebytes.

glenn bradley
01-16-2019, 1:07 PM
Malwarebytes is excellent if you want a free/pay-for application. But honestly, on the few Windows instances I have, I just use the Microsoft AV that's already included with the OS.

True. The University system I work for uses Windows 10 Defender, AV and "suggests" Malwarebytes. I have run Win10 security tools plus Malwarebytes for many years without issue. In all fairness I rarely had issues before that with Sophos. So much of your experience with problems stems from your use habits . . . no offense to you folks that ignore all built-in warnings and automatically click "OK" without reading :D:D:D

Peter Kelly
01-20-2019, 1:19 PM