PDA

View Full Version : Federal end table build

chris carter
12-18-2018, 2:49 PM
We have a hideous end table left over from my wife’s college years that needs to go, especially since it’s in eyesight of our 1890’s dining room table. So I decided to build a federal style end table. Because it needed to be painted black to fit the decor in the room, I just made it from poplar and then painted it black. It was painful, but I justified it having seen examples of federal antique end tables with original black paint. This is my first time making a table of the fine furniture variety. I used a thickness planner for some of the more monotonous thicknessing, but everything else was all hand tools.

I turned the legs on my pole lathe. The joinery was cut first before turning. I accidentally cut the dovetails for the top of the front legs which was stupid and had to plug them before I could turn the legs. It worked out fine in the end, but it was a lesson learned.

My main pieces. You can see where I plugged the dovetail sockets so I had to repeat chopping them out (easier the second time). The ¼” bead was made with a scratch stock.

The knob was also turned on the lathe. It has a 5/8 shaft which was wedged in the front of the drawer.

With the drawer fitted.

The top is secured with little clips.

The full assembly. The top has a subtle rounding of the edges.

The whole thing was painted with black lacquer. Because it will be used on a daily basis and will see plenty of wine I decided to put some poly on it. I suck at brushing anything, so I made a wipe-on poly and this required using a dewaxed shellac between the paint and WOP. I need to let it fully cure and then I’ll knock down any remaining dust nibs. But I couldn’t resist seeing it in its natural environment so I very carefully set in the drawer after a day of drying. Then the drawer carefully came out and it went back in the basement to finish curing.