PDA

View Full Version : JET Drill press question:

Jon Wyatt
10-31-2018, 2:14 PM
I purchased an older JET JDP-20MF drill press and I am trying to repair the tension adjuster lever. It does not seem to engage the tubes mounted to the motor and I have to manually push the motor in or out to tension belts. The information in the manual and the parts list does not detail the area or parts inside the drill press head. Would like to hear from other users that may have had this problem. I would also note that the parts list shows only one size belt for this model: A-32 and indicates two required. My DP has an A-32 and a smaller belt. Two A-32 belts are too large to be tensioned. Talked to factory and they were clueless on both issues. Anyone with suggestions.....airdad100@gmail.com .

Thanks

Jon

Jay Kepley
10-31-2018, 3:26 PM
Jon, let me preface this reply by saying I'm not mechanically inclined. I'm a woodworker newby and a desk jockey. I have a Jet 17" drill press, and I'm working on it now. There is some vibration I'm trying to fix. I've attached a copy of the head of the press. The mechanism to push and pull the motor includes two shafts connected to the motor mount. Those shafts are also connected in the head to a perpendicular shaft with a concentric piece (which is connected to the lever you use outside the head to move the motor back and forth). It took me some time to figure out how to remove the spindle pulley on the drill press. It ultimately took using a heat gun on the pulley to separate the pulley from a tapered shaft. I hope this is helpful. Good luck!395840

Jon Wyatt
10-31-2018, 4:29 PM