PDA

View Full Version : Another Angle on Guitar Stands

Vaughn McMillan
11-27-2005, 4:32 PM
As the result of comments I made in response to Dick Parr's beautiful guitar stands (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=26772) recently, another Creeker has asked me if I have any pics of the ones I've made. I've made a few over the years, but didn't take pictures, and only have one of them in my possession now, so I snapped a few quick pics of it this morning. This stand was built at least 25 years ago, and it's probably had a guitar in it for 15 of them. It's built of pine and a hunk of 5/8" ply I found in my granddad's wood pile. I think I only stained it; no other finish that I can recall. Looking at it today, it could use some touching up...perhaps a bit of BLO would brighten things up a bit. Considering the fact that I'm a rank beginner now, I was really a rookie 25 years ago when I built it. It'd be fun to re-do in nice hardwoods. I built this with the intent that it'd be adjustable to hold thick or thin-bodied guitars. Since it was planned for a "living room" stand instead of a "gig" stand it doesn't completely break down flat, but is does disassemble pretty easily.

Here's a shot of the different pieces. It's basically a base (which is simply two pieces of 1" pine held together with two dowels), a sliding backrest, and a couple loose dowels to hold the backrest. IIRC, I cut the outer curves with granddad's bandsaw, and cut the inner stuff with a jig saw and a lot of sanding. (This would be prime scrollsaw territory.) The plywood chipped out around the holes in the backrest -- I was likely using a spade bit at an angle -- so I used a chisel to square it up and make it look intentional.

Here are the pieces put together. The two loose dowels can go in any of the three sets of holes, to compensate for different guitar body shapes, and the backrest slides on all four dowels (two fixed, two loose).