PDA

View Full Version : My 1st project from the new shop

Ken Shoemaker
11-25-2005, 8:43 AM
I humbly submit this project for critiques and comments. I took a picture I saw of a small mantle clock as inspiration. SWMBO asked for a wall clock in our new family room I recently finished.

I have no experience in wood working. During the project I experienced two kickbacks on the table saw, planed wood to thin, screwed up at least as much wood as it took to build it, but all in all, I had a great time.

Thank you in advance for your frank comments. I live by the "Don't ask the question if your not ready for the answer".

Ken

scott spencer
11-25-2005, 8:47 AM
Looks really nice Ken! Great work. A clock like that is not an easy first project. You're not alone in messing up perfectly good innocent wood! :o I made a wall clock for my brother last summer and made some major boo-boos! :eek:

Taste is subjective so take mine with a grain of salt...I like the design of your clock alot, especially the arched bottom but would prefer a contrasting clock face similar to the one in the pic on the right.

Jim Hager
11-25-2005, 8:52 AM
I already typed this once but I don't for the life of me know where it went.

The way you learn is to mess up. Keep messin up and you will learn that it is significantly cheaper to do it right the first time.:rolleyes: If you are tight enough you will learn to do it without so many mistakes.:confused:

As to the clock. Looks great, like someone who knew what they were doing built it. You need to fix that light switch right there next to it.:D

Brian Hale
11-25-2005, 8:52 AM
During the project I experienced two kickbacks on the table saw, planed wood to thin, screwed up at least as much wood as it took to build it, but all in all, I had a great time.
Ken

Sounds like a normal day in the shop for me! :rolleyes: