PDA

View Full Version : Black Walnut Bowls

Dick Parr
11-25-2005, 2:45 AM
Here is a set of walnut bowls I turned from a blank that Mark Cothren sent me a couple months ago. The blank started out at 15-3/4" x 6-1/2" so I got to use my (new to me) coring system and was able to get 3 bowls out of it.

There was a lot of ring shank in the blank but with a little CA glue I was able to keep them together for the most part. They finished up at 12" , 9", and 6". A friend suggested I make a ladle for the set and so this is my first attempt at a one. Even with cracks the black walnut is pretty.

Thanks for looking.

Chris Barton
11-25-2005, 7:08 AM
Hi Dick,

Great looking bowls! It looks like you have the hang of the coring system too! You got the McNaughton right? I need to get one so you feedback would be appreciated.

John Miliunas
11-25-2005, 7:43 AM
Coolness, Dick! Great looking bowls and that ladle is neat, as well!:) Your Walnut pieces finish up real nice. I have a heckuva' time getting tool marks out of mine. I realize it's user error, but I just can't seem to get it quite right!:rolleyes: :) :cool:

John Hart
11-25-2005, 10:22 AM
Beautifully Done!!! I love the grain pattern you've struck. Cool little spoon too!!:)

Joe Tonich
11-25-2005, 11:06 AM
Hey guy........

Them look pretty sweet! Glad your getting a lot of practice with the corer, you can teach me how to use one next time we come down....;) :D

That ladle looks good! I like it! :D

Joe

Michael Stafford
11-25-2005, 5:46 PM
Great looking nested set and a fine save, Dick! I sometimes think we learn more from saving the difficult pieces than turning the easy ones. Just look at at how you decided that a ladle would complete the set. What a creative addition to some pretty wood with a story. Now how does Jack taste when sipped from a walnut ladle......!:p ;)

Gary DeWitt
11-25-2005, 5:54 PM
Very nice, Dick. I especially like the rim cutouts for the ladel.