PDA

View Full Version : engraving an image- need help

Ian Malings
11-24-2005, 9:15 AM
this is my first time using a customer supplied file to engrave an image.
can anyone tell me, what to do with this image to get it to come out looking good on a stainless steel flask?
i tried greyscale 8 bit conversion in corel 12, but it looks crappy

any advice for a newbie is greatly appreciated

thx
ian

Ian Malings
11-24-2005, 9:17 AM
hmmm...
how do i attach a file??

Mark Plotkin
11-24-2005, 1:10 PM
Ian,

I have not good results putting logos on stainless. I would take out the fill colors so the logo becomes outlines with no shades of grey or colors to worry about. This will make for a clean crisp logo on the stainless. I hope this helps. If others have had good results with logos and photos I would like to here from them.

good luck!
MP

Shaddy Dedmore
11-24-2005, 3:38 PM
I agree with Mark... you should make it all outlines with no blue or yellow fills. You could probably make the sword handle and blade all black. If it's not already a vector file, your could probably have Pete Bertrand do it for you, for $9.00. If you want to keep it raster you'll just have to use the Fill command in whatever photo software you use. Looks like you might have to increase the tolorance of the Color Fill to get all the color (a low number usually means you only fill the exact color you choose, a higher number allows you to fill more, like light blue AND dark blue). In Pain Shop Pro, there's also a Color Replacer command, that allows you to replace all the colors of the whole picture at once (like, choose to turn yellow to white, then blue to white).

Shaddy

Ian Malings
11-25-2005, 9:56 AM
thx Shaddy- i'm going to give Peter a try. for $9 you can't go wrong.
i'm still figuring all this software out, and until i get proficient, i'll have to seek help wherever i can get it.

Keith Outten
11-25-2005, 1:06 PM