PDA

View Full Version : Walnut Vase

John Hart
11-23-2005, 8:33 PM
This is my first project with the new scraper. Easiest Walnut I ever worked!!! The Vase stands 7.5" tall and 4.5 in diamter. I finished it in my BLO/Shellac cocktail then buffed it lightly with steel wool. I think I'll work on the finish a bit more though. Thanks for peekin' :)

Oh...And I'd like to point out that I tried Dennis Peacock's suggestion of symmetry by making the base the same diameter as the lip. Whatcha think?

Mark Singer
11-23-2005, 8:38 PM
John,
Excellent! Thats walnut ....one of my favorite woods also...along with...

John Miliunas
11-23-2005, 8:38 PM
Very nice, John! So, the "Big Ugly" works great, huh? :D Anyhow, nice form and, it looks like there's no "problem" with "a flat spot"! (I'm still trying to figure out exactly what the "problem" was with that other piece...:confused: ) Say, what wall thickness do you usually go to with these pieces? BTW, I think this one qualifies as a "vahhhse"!:D :cool:

Chris Barton
11-23-2005, 8:41 PM
Now John. that's a vahhhhhas! I love walnut but, I thought you told us your lathe was broken and you were waiting for parts? Hey, this is a great pices and I like the matte finish.

John Hart
11-23-2005, 8:45 PM
Thanks guys!!!

I fixed it a little over a week ago Chris.....Good to go!!

John - This one has a wall of about 3/16"... I could have gone thinner but I was getting used to the new stick!!

Mark - Thanks much!! I would like to get your opinion on form when ever you have the time. You are considered the leading expert. Now, on wood types.....well...we're gonna have to talk.:D

Carole Valentine
11-23-2005, 8:53 PM
Excellent, John! Nice smooth curve and good proportions and. I love the walnut. I parted the bottom out of a walnut hollow form tonight. Oops! Guess I made it a little too concave.:(

John Miliunas
11-23-2005, 8:58 PM