PDA

View Full Version : Any motorcycle commuters here?

Harold Balzonia
07-19-2018, 11:36 PM
I知 set to get my motorcycle license in a couple weeks and a new bike shortly thereafter. Just for reference, I知 curious if anyone has recommendations or experiences they壇 like to share with a new rider?

all of my hot rodding is out of my system and I知 awfully conservative nowadays so I won稚 be popping wheelies or riding 100mph, splitting lanes. I知 just looking forward to cruising down the highway and doing my short errands on a vehicle that gets 50+ mpg and is fun.

im looking very seriously at the Kawasaki Versys 650, if anyone has comments about that specific bike, I壇 love to hear it.

Jason Roehl
07-20-2018, 6:15 AM
Head on a swivel, and never assume anyone can see you--look out for #1. Take a safety class if you haven't already. Be careful out there--many more people on cellphones and texting than when I started riding 25 years ago.

Steve Eure
07-20-2018, 8:39 AM
Watch out for other drivers around you. Stay clear of semi's. The wind from their trailers can suck you into them. Assume that NO ONE can see you.

Jim Becker
07-20-2018, 10:00 AM
I know several folks who commute using motorcycles during nicer weather. The comments above are spot-on about being very careful of distracted drivers...even folks who are not distracted sometimes don't see motorcycles all that well. Consider wearing something "really visible" instead of the more traditional black, too. This is not a time to be shy and blend into the background!

Peter Kelly
07-20-2018, 10:32 AM
im looking very seriously at the Kawasaki Versys 650, if anyone has comments about that specific bike, I’d love to hear it.Nice bike, one piece of advice if you're buying new, I'd recommend splurging on OEM panniers or top case. These can all be keyed by Kawasaki to match the ignition one, think there's a helmet lock that works with the system as well.

Michael Weber
07-20-2018, 11:39 AM