PDA

View Full Version : pros / cons of Paperback vs. standard veneer,

Martin Lutz
11-21-2005, 8:42 PM
Are there any drawbacks to using paperback veneers? I have read of veneer bubbling, is this paperback? I need to veneer a large project and will need to join several sheets of standard veneer or use paperback. any help is appreciated.

Tim Sproul
11-22-2005, 12:04 AM
I'm a newb to woodworking and an even newer newb to veneering so take this for what it's worth.....

My understanding is that the biggest difference is the thickness. Paperback is generally 1/100" thick and hence really requires the paperbacking to keep from cracking/splitting. Solid wood veneers are generally 1/42" or thicker.

The paperbacked stuff doesn't give you much room to prep the surface if you ding or otherwise introduce an imperfection. It does tend to be easier to handle because of the paperbacking and you generally don't have to worry about it being wavy or such so you won't need veneer softener. I've also seen it in very wide sheets - 24 inches - which isn't very easily obtained in solid wood veneer. The paperbacking will also keep any glue bleed-thru to a minimum, if not completely eliminate it. At 1/100 thickness, paper backed is probably more amenable to bent veneering applications where you have more severe bends.