PDA

View Full Version : Band Saw Tension

Joe Pelonio
11-21-2005, 6:11 PM
I'm not experienced at the mechanics of a band saw so I need some help.

I have an inexpensive Delta 1/3 HP with 1/4" blade that I use mainly for rounding corners on MDO for wood Signs. I was just trying to rip a small
piece of MDO and even with a fence in place the blade was turning into the wood.

Is that the blade tension being too loose? Does the tension normally loosen itself up over time and have to be adjusted? I don't think I've
touched the tension since I first set it up a couple of years ago.

tod evans
11-21-2005, 6:13 PM
joe most likely your blade is dull. tod

Andy Hoyt
11-21-2005, 6:54 PM
.... I don't think I've touched the tension since I first set it up a couple of years ago.
Joe - My number one rule for bandsaw blades is to relieve the tension when I'm done with the saw. I use mine off and on throughout the day, so my practice is to simply add tension when I first use the machine and then release it at the end of the day.

Good chance the blade has stretched. And dull - which compounds the issue since you're pushing harder - which in turn will make the blade deflect more.

Get a new blade and enjoy.

Joe Pelonio
11-21-2005, 6:57 PM
Thanks guys, I'll get a new blade, and since I may use it only a few times a month I'll release the tension until I need it.

Frank Pellow
11-21-2005, 7:11 PM
Im having exactly the same problem with my saw. On the weekend I more or less destroyed a very nice section of 7.5 inch by 2 inch by 5 foot white quarter sawn oak due to drifting on my bandsaw. :( I am using the cheap 1 inch blade that came with the saw. I will definately buy a better blade and hope that helps.

I have not used a bandsaw very much so I really don't know if the problem is me or the blade, but getting a good blade should tell me something. :confused:

Neil Bosdet
11-21-2005, 7:28 PM
Frank,