PDA

View Full Version : Maybe of interest to some?

Patrick Walsh
07-01-2018, 11:33 AM
Either way I’m board dog sitting at the moment so I figured I’d share what I’ve been up to the last few days.

Everything cherry is for work. I just happen to be building it at home as I had machines better suited to stain grade work. Plus our shop is on the top floor of a old mill building with floor to ceiling windows. Needles to say it’s a bit hot in the shop these days in New England. My shop on the other hand is perfect self moderated with regard to both temperature and humidity year round.

I have been working 60-70hrs a week without vacation for many years now. It really leaves little time for my own work. Good thing I mostly enjoy my actual work for the most part.

I found a bit of time in the last day or two to put some time in on a personal project or two I have had just sitting for god knows how long.

I’ll start with the plane rack seen in the chisel rack post.

Patrick Walsh
07-01-2018, 11:37 AM
The picture shows how the rack is attached to the wall along with the taper batten that sets the angle of the panel so the planes will stay put.

I have to admit attaching the piece to the wall was a bit of a afterthought. Well not so much a afterthought, I had a few ideas and was unsure exactly what option I wanted to settle on. I decided to just proceed and figure it out later. I like to kinda build as I go with my own work and let something just evolve. Often I can see the piece in my head when I start but as I begin constructing it and can now see it in 3D form I often make amendments. Maybe this is a sight of a lazy woodworker or maybe a sign of something else. Being I have to follow plans at work 60-70hrs a week I choose to operate with a little more freedom and creativity on my own time.